The Child in the Photo - Kerry Wilkinson

The Child in the Photo

By Kerry Wilkinson

  • Release Date: 2021-06-14
  • Genre: Mysteries & Thrillers
Score: 4
4
From 73 Ratings

Description

I stare at the newspaper article about a baby snatched from the back of a car thirty years ago, and wonder why someone would post it through my door. Looking closer, my blood freezes. The little girl in the photo has an unusual scar – just like mine. I’ve never met anyone with one like it. Is this stolen child… me?

Trembling with shock, I know I have to confront my mother. My parents got me through a horrific accident, helped me find a job I love, teaching art, and even with buying my own house. But was it all built on lies?

She tells me the day I was born was the best day of her life, and I’m flooded with guilt for questioning her – but why do I catch her burning papers in the garden the next day?

Then I come home to find a woman sitting on my doorstep, covered in bruises and claiming she knows who abducted me. I don’t know if I can trust her – or if I’ll be the next to get hurt.

Because all the while, I’ve been hiding my own secret. Does whoever sent the article know what really happened the day of my accident? Desperate for the truth, I break into the house of my supposed kidnapper. Inside, I find a handwritten list of names. A shiver goes down my spine as I realise I wasn’t the only child to be stolen.

Then I hear a key in the lock, and I know my life is in terrible danger…

An absolutely addictive read that will have you racing through the pages and questioning everything you thought you knew about your family. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, Lisa Jewell and Shari Lapena.

Read what everyone’s saying about The Child in the Photo:

‘WOW!!! WOW!! WOW!!! OH SNAP!!! Kerry Wilkinson DANG I smell best seller incredibleamazing, creative and twisted… Ohh this book hooks you instantly!!jam packed with suspense, with a thrilling and powerful ending!’ Heidi Lynn’s Book Reviews

‘I loved it… totally intriguing and addictive… Kerry throws in twist after twist that propels you into a whole other universe, leaving you questioning what you thought you knew… I simply could not put the book down… thoroughly addictive.’ Confessions of a Bookaholic, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Wow! What a rollercoaster, you have no idea what is coming next. This one keeps you guessing till the bitter end… so full of plot twists I had no idea what was going to happen… a fast-paced, gritty, keep you reading all night book… needs to top your summer reading list.’ Goodreads reviewer

Read this book!... the twists and turns will give you whiplash! I didn't want the ride to end.’ Withabookinourhands, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Immediately drew me in!... heart-pounding… Prepare yourself for a twisted rideENJOY!TwoGirlsandaBookObsession

Wow!!! What an absolute cracker of a book!!!… sucked me straight inabsolutely addictive page turner that kept my heart in my throat, on the edge of the seat and absolutely absorbed me… compelling, page-turning, mind-blowing will keep you up late at night.’ bookworm86, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘A great read… grabbed my attention from the first page… with each new revelation, I just kept wanting to turn the pages… I highly recommend this book.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Omg, wow....just wow and wow again, I really, really loved this captivating, fast paced, unputdownable page turner… had me hooked in and glued to my kindle… a gripping read… packed full of twists and turns… one of my favourite reads of this year.’ Nickislifeofcrime, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Reviews

  • Family book with a twist

    4
    By Love to Read 18
    A woman comes home one day to find a newspaper clipping in her mail. It’s an article about a missing child cold case. The child in the photo has the same ear deformation as she does. She sets out on a mission to find out who she is. I can’t imagine going through something like this. Hope handles the questions beautifully, not trying to upset anyone. As she learns about her past and meets new people she is a bit too trusting in my opinion but it is an innocence. If you like family books and finding out who your family really is, you will love this book.
  • Loved!!!!!

    4
    By Mlawyer112
    My Review: Another great read by one of my favorite authors. I finished it in just 2 days. Each chapter kept me wanting more and I could not put it down for the life of me. Kerry Wilkinson sure did not disappoint. I want to start off by saying that I loved this book. I have read many books by this author and he sure knows how to deliver a great book. I knew I had to read this book as soon as I read the blurb. If you ever read my reviews you know I’m as sucker for a good child kidnapping story. This one really intrigued me because the child that was taken found out about it as an adult. That definitely took the story in a whole different direction. Now on to the characters. All the characters were right for the book as far as I was concerned. I especially loved the best friend to the main character. Everyone could use a friend like him. He was so kind, caring and loyal. Ok now on to the end. The ending of a book is always my favorite part. I thought this ending was mediocre. Normally, Kerry Wilkinson delivers an explosive, twisty end but not this time. I was waiting for the bang the whole book but never got it. This is the reason why I’m going to deduct one star off my rating. However, the end did not take away from the book as a whole. I still loved it and would recommend it to everyone. Thank you Kerry Wilkinson for another great read. I will be reading more of your books in the future. Between the plot, characters and all the twists in this book it made it an easy and fast read. I would definitely recommend it and happily give it 4 Hearts❤️❤️❤️❤️.

Comments